Self-Help

This is a piece I’ve entitled “Self-Help”.  It is what I originally had in mind when I shot with Lauren that day many weeks ago. I created other pieces from that evening’s images but put this one off.  I knew what I wanted to create yet kept thinking that I couldn’t make it ‘perfect’.  I had such self-doubt that it kept me from actually starting the piece.  I finally convinced myself that even if it did not turn out ‘perfectly’ or exactly the way I wanted it to, that I would be learning from the process and still creating *something*.  I have been stuck in this mental rut.  I have all of these ideas and they are literally clanging around in my brain and nothing is coming to fruition.

 

 

Months ago, I would just take my camera out with me pretty much everywhere I went.  And I was always able to find something beautiful or unique or interesting to shoot.  I haven’t done that in so long and, clearly, I need to get back to it.  I feel like I am stagnating.  I need to do the same with my conceptual work.  Just SHOOT.  Even if I have no real plan…. just shoot.  Capture.  Create.  Edit.  See what happens.  Let the creativity flow again.

 

 

Back to the topic of this piece.  There are so many books on the market aimed at self-help.  So many people ready to tell us how to find the help we need from within.  It is a booming market.  Why is that?  Because we *need* to make sure we take care of ourselves.  It is instinct to help others but, sometimes, we get caught up and leave ourselves, our own spirits, high and dry.  Love yourself.  Accept yourself.  You are the only *you* that you have.  And you are a beautiful you, flaws and all.  Spend some time today doing something that makes YOU happy.  Even if it is for only 5 minutes.  Meditate.  Read.  Find funny cat memes online.  Call a friend.  Take a walk around the block.  Eat an ice cream.  Anything.  Just make yourself *smile* today.  And then work on adding that time for yourself in *every* day.  You deserve it!  You really, truly do.

 

 

selfhelpFinal

 

 

 

 

selfhelpFinalpartial

One thought on “Self-Help

Leave a Reply

