Color Hell and Silhouettes

The hubby is off all this week so that we can tackle some of what needs to get done around the house.  That includes painting the family room.  We were supposed to paint it when we got the new furniture in there two years ago but I just could not pick a color!  Ridiculous. I know.  I’m not one of those people who think nothing of changing paint color.  When we paint, it tends to stay whatever color we use for years. Knowing this, I feel mucho pressure to pick the ‘right’ color.  I’ve changed my mind about 1,349 times.  Okay, maybe 6 times.  A friend has Brunswick Beige from Benjamin Moore in her home and I love it!  So I went and got the paint chips but fear it may be too dark for the room.  So, after he has taken off specifically to paint, I am back to grasping random paint chips like a junkie in need of a fix.  I have the gamut… from neutral beiges to colonial blues to light ambers.  Oh boy.  I need to pick a color by tomorrow.  T-o-m-o-r-r-o-w.  “But you can just paint over it if you don’t like it!” you are probably saying while rolling your eyes.  I hear ya.  But painting seems like such a ginormous chore, that I know that even if I am not in love with the color, there it will remain.  For years.  Wish me luck!!

 

In other news, I just realized I never shared photos of my Halloween window silhouettes.  The very first year Ms. Martha came out with her black, stair-mice silhouettes, I started to create my own.  Yes, even said stair mice.  I freehand draw what I want then painstakingly cut it out with an X-Acto knife.  I decorate four sets of windows so that all of the downstairs has them.  These photos aren’t great because it was very cold the night I took them and I’ve been to busy to re-take them.

 

 

 

Every year after Halloween, I rip then down and throw them out.  Then the following year, I regret having done so. LOL  But that forces me to come up with new ideas.  😀

 

2 thoughts on “Color Hell and Silhouettes

  1. Lisa, when you paint a new color, it’s not uncommon to walk in and say to yourself……. awwww hell, what did I do. But, once the paint has dried, you’ll look again and tell yourself that you did not do so bad after all!

    The halloween decorations look awesome. You’re so talented! 🙂

Leave a Reply

